2021 UBC China Forum
Opening Ceremony

Fri, March 19, 2021

6:00 PM PDT

Sat, March 20, 2021

9:00 AM CST

Dashan

Canadian media personality and cultural ambassador

Yu Minhong

Founder and Chairman of New Oriental Education and Technology Group

Li Kai

Senior Associate Dean at the UBC Sauder School of Business

Opening - Dashan.jpg
Opening - Yu Minhong.png
Opening - Kai Li.jpg
Day 1 - Ventures

The global pandemic and economic crisis have made most institutional and individual investors more cautious than ever. However, there is also an emergence of promising new venture capital opportunities. Moving forward in 2021, will investors evaluate deals differently? And what will the longer-term impact be on private companies looking for capital?

Fri, March 19, 2021

6:30 PM PDT

Sat, March 20, 2021

9:30 AM CST

William Ma

Former Chief Investment Officer of Noah Holdings

Ventures - William Ma.png

Fri, March 19, 2021

6:50 PM PDT

Sat, March 20, 2021

9:50 AM CST

Tytus Michalski

Managing Partner at Fresco Capital

T.Michalski.jpg

Fri, March 19, 2021

19:20 PM PDT

Sat, March 20, 2021

10:20 AM CST

Song Hongbing

Author of the financial bestseller Currency Wars

Ventures - Song Hongbing.jpg
Day 2 - Retail

The traditional retail industry is going through major shifts and is facing the retail apocalypse. How are companies reimagining the retail business by embracing e-commerce and conforming to new consumer habits? How are companies resetting expectations due to the pandemic? And how are companies planning to recover the customer experience in the future?

Sat, March 20, 2021

6:10 PM PDT

Sun, March 21, 2021

9:10 AM CST

Zhao Yingming 

Vice President of JD Retail

Retail - Zhao Yingming.jpg

Sat, March 20, 2021

6:30 PM PDT

Sun, March 21, 2021

9:30 AM CST

John Lee 

Former CEO and Vice Chairman of Tom Lee Music

Retail - John Lee.jpg

Sun, March 20, 2021

7:00 PM PDT

Mon, March 21, 2021

10:00 AM CST

Spencer Xu 

Founder, Chairman, and CEO of SnapPay

Retail - Spencer Xu.jpg
Day 3 - Technology

The speed of information exchange has never been faster as we step into the era of 5G. The fifth-generation technology is bringing about a virtual boom where cloud-based services and the enormous amount of data available is serving as the driving force behind businesses. As everyday life becomes more automated with algorithms and artificial intelligence, how will societies change in this new era?

Sun, March 21, 2021

6:40 PM PDT

Mon, March 22, 2021

9:40  AM CST

Bill Tam

Co-Founder and COO of the Digital Technology Supercluster

Technology - Bill Tam.jpg

Andreas Weigend 

Former Chief Scientist of Amazon and the author of the book Data for the People

Technology - Andreas Weigend.jpg

Olivera Zatezalo

Chief Security Officer of Huawei Canada

Technology - Olivera Zatezalo.png

Chris Pereira

President and CEO of Canadian Ecosystem Institute

Technology - Chris Pereira.jpg
Day 4 - International Relations

China’s advancement in the 21st century requires a multi-narrative understanding. How can China-Canada’s relations be strengthened despite their differences? How has the onset of COVID-19 affected the two countries and what will be its impact going forward? And what should be Canada’s position in the increasingly complex relationship between the United States and China?

Mon, March 22, 2021

6:05 PM PDT

Tue, March 23, 2021

9:05 AM CST

Ma Li

Professor of international negotiation at Peking University

IR - Ma Li.jpg

Mon, March 22, 2021

6:25 PM PDT

Tue, March 23, 2021

9:25 AM CST

Shen Dingli

Professor of international relations at Fudan University

IR - Shen Dingli.jpg

Mon, March 22, 2021

6:55 PM PDT

Tue, March 23, 2021

9:55 AM CST

Paul Evans

Professor of Asian and trans-Pacific international relations at the University of British Columbia

IR - Paul Evans.png

Zhen Han

Professor of political science at the University of British Columbia

IR - Zhen Han.jpg
Closing Ceremony

Mon, March 22, 2021

7:45 PM PDT

Tue, March 23, 2021

10:45 AM CST

Michael Hawes

CEO of Fulbright Canada

Paul Lee

Founder and Managing Partner of Vanedge Capital Partners

Closing - Michael Hawes.jpg
paul.jpg

Guo Jun

Chief Consul, Education Office, Chinese Consulate General in Vancouver

郭军.jpg